Using Bookmarks in Eclipse

I love being able to use bookmarks when I’m coding to quickly move between places in the code. Yes, there are all sort of navigational aids in IDEs these days, but nothing is faster than using some key commands to set a bookmark and get back to it. Must be a holdover from my vi days. Since then it has been downhill. Well, Visual Studio was good. IntelliJ okay, but Eclipse is horrible. I just want to quickly tag a place in my code, not name it. Well, a little search lead me to a great write up about Eclipse and it’s bookmark functionality by Luis de la Rosa at Eclipse Tip: Use Bookmarks to track important places in your code. But, even more helpful was the link to the plugin in the comments at Eclipse Bookmarks Plugin which adds quick bookmarking and navigating. It’s a little old, but it still seems to work. I did have to update the key mappings some, but the basic functionality seems to be working.

Leave a Reply

