Ext JS 4: Mocking Success and Failure AJAX Responses

Often when building an Ext JS app, I will create a functioning mock-up and work out the design and most client-side issues in my mock-ups. This has a lot to do w/the environment I am working on and it gets down to the fact that it is much faster for me to work with the mock-ups than my real app. Recently I’ve been creating a utility class for my app that has constants and utility methods and one thing that is helpful for me is my “random success/fail” ajax response method. I’ve found this is a great way for me to make sure I’m handling errors everywhere in my app, whether it is through a global error handler or on each AJAX request.

My stripped down utility class looks like this (usually I have a bit more in there, such as constants, app-specific vtypes, and logging.):

Ext.define('MyApp.Util', {
	singleton: true,

	UNKNOWN_ERROR: 'An unknown error occurred',

	randomSuccessFail : function (u) {
		var random = Math.floor(Math.random()*11), url;
		if (random > 8) {
			url = './data/dne.json'
		} else if (random > 3) {
			url = u ? u : '../util/successTrue.json';
		} else {
			url = '../util/successFalse.json';
		}
		return url;
	}

});

“dne.json” is a file that does not exist, so I make sure my mock-ups are handling 404s and other server errors. The other response files look like this:

//successTrue.json
{
	"success":true,
	"message":"success message here, if any"
}

// successFalse.json
{
	"success":false,
	"message":"Failure message goes here and make it a little bit longer and even longer"
}

And it gets called like so in a controller:

// A method inside a controller.  Ext.Ajax request, 
// returning default success/fail response
	saveUser: function() {
		var userDetail = this.getUserDetail(),
			params;

		if (userDetail.getForm().isValid()) {
			this.getDismissAlert().hide();

			params = userDetail.getValues();

			Ext.Ajax.request({
				url: MyApp.Util.randomSuccessFail(),
				jsonData: params,
				scope: this,
				callback: this.saveCallback
			});
		}
	},

// And here's another example, this time on a store load 
// and expecting a different success response
	loadUserIds: function () {
		var combo = this.getUserIdCombo(),
			store = combo.getStore();

		store.proxy.url = MyApp.Util.randomSuccessFail('./data/userids.json');
		store.load({
			scope: this,
			callback: this.loadUserIdsCallback
		});
	},

// Sample callback, shown here... just because
	saveCallback : function (options, success, response) {
		var responseJson, form;
		if (success) {
			responseJson = Ext.decode(response.responseText);
			if (responseJson.success === true) {
				// whatever stuff needs to happen on success
				this.showSuccessResults("Updates saved");
			} else {
				this.showErrorResults(responseJson.message);
			}
		} else {
			this.showErrorResults(MyApp.Util.UNKNOWN_ERROR);
		}
	},

And that’s it, a helpful utility.

One comment

Leave a Reply

